Teeling Take Title for World’s Best Single Malt

Every year the World Whiskies Awards organises rounds and rounds of blind tastings with panels of hand selected judges, all in the bid to discover which whiskies are the Best in the World. The awards ceremony took place last night, March 28th, on the eve of Whisky Live London, with the Irish making history, as they took the title for “World’s Best Single Malt” for the first time.
Teeling 24 Year Old, was released in August of 2016, limited to just 5,000 bottles. This single malt whiskey was matured primarily in ex-bourbon barrels before being finished in ex-Sauternes wine casks, which gives the whiskey a silky smooth mouthfeel with hints of stone fruit, salted caramel and chocolaty undertones. It is bottled at 46% ABV, non-chill filtered and is presented in a beautiful, hand bottled, bespoke, decanter style bottle.

teeling 24.png
Teeling 24 Year Old. World’s Best Single Malt

Interestingly, this was actually the second 24 year old single malt that was released by the Teeling Whiskey Company. A year previous to this whiskey being released, in February of 2015, there was another 24 Year Old released. The 02/2015 release featured a small amount of peated malt in the mash bill giving an very interesting mouthfeel and flavour profile. The palate speaks more to citrus peel, linseed and hearbal flavours than the 08/2016 edition, thanks to the inclusion of the peat.

Teeling 24 02 015
Teeling 24 Year Old 02/2015 edition

“World’s Best Single Malt” was one of a number of accolades that the Liberties based whiskey makers were able to scoop at last night’s awards. They also took home best “Irish Single Malt” for the 24, which is an accolade they also achieved in its year of release, 2016,  a Silver Medal for the Teeling Revival Vol. V in the under 12’s category, and they even managed to take home category winner and runner up in the Non-Age Statement category, representing Irish whiskeys.

This was truly a fantastic haul for the Teeling Whiskey Company, who no doubt will be celebrating their win in the distillery today. As we already mentioned, this is the first time that an Irish whiskey has taken the mantle of “World’s Best Singlemalt”, which I’m sure will do nothing but grow the fever and intrigue that the category is acquiring around the world presently.

Other Irish Whiskey winners from the night:

Irish Whiskey Under 12 Years & Under:

Category Winner: Redbreast 12, Single Pot Still.
Gold Winner: The Quiet Man ‘An Fear Cuin’ 8 Year Old, Single Malt.
Silver Winners: Teeling Revival Volume V, & Dingle Single Malt Batch 3.
Bronze Winners: The Irishman 12 Year Old Single Malt, & The Quiet Man ‘An Fear Cuin’ 12 Year Old Single Malt.

Irish Whisky 13 to 20 Years:

Category Winner:  Dunnville’s VR 18 Year Old Port Mourant Rum Finish Whiskey.
Silver Winner: Tullamore D.E.W. 18 Year Old Single Malt..
Bronze Winner: Tullamore D.E.W. 14 Year Old Single Malt.

No Age Statement:

Category Winner: Teeling Single Grain.
Silver Winner: Teeling Single Malt.

World Whiskies Awards

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: